Tennessee Chapter Councilor Report

January 2015

ALA’s Midwinter Meeting was held January 30 – February 3, 2015 in Chicago, IL. ALA’s Council meets three times at each conference. I have included below a list of links to the various documents and information that are involved in Council. There’s even an audio recording of each Council meeting if anyone is interested in hearing the actual discussions.

Council Actions http://www.ala.org/aboutala/governance/council/council_actions

Council Agendas http://www.ala.org/aboutala/governance/council/council_agendas

Council Documents http://www.ala.org/aboutala/governance/council/council-documents

Council Recordings http://www.ala.org/aboutala/governance/council/councilaudio

A number of resolutions were discussed by Council in these sessions.  The revised Standards for Accreditation of Master’s Programs in Library and Information Studies were accepted (CD #10_12315_act).  Information about communication from ALA Committees and Council Committees and the lifespan of Membership Initiative Groups (MIGS) was added to the ALA Policy Manual as well as information about the new interpretation of the Code of Ethics (CD #17_act).  Council also requested clarification from the Committee on Organization on the reappointment policy to the Budget Analysis & Review Committee (BARC).

One action that was subject to much discussion was the vote to present a Bylaws amendment to the ALA Membership on the spring 2015 ballot.  The language is as follows:

Amend Article XII of the ALA Bylaws to state:

[Sturgis Standard Code of Parliamentary Procedure] Robert’s Rules of Order, in the latest edition, shall govern the Association in all cases to which it can be applied and in which it is not inconsistent with the Constitution, the Bylaws, or special rules of order of the Association. (ALA Constitution and Bylaws Committee Report, ALA CD#25_2115_act)

Also adopted was the Resolution Urging Library Directors to Encourage and Support United for Libraries Memberships for Each of Their Trustees (CD #35 Revised), the Resolution Recognizing and Supporting United Nations, Educational Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) on its70th Anniversary (CD# 18.1_2215_act), the Resolution Denouncing Recent Assaults on the Freedom of Expression as Exemplified in the Attack on Charlie Hebdo (CD #19.1_ 2215_act), and the  Resolution on Preserving Public Access to Scientific and Technical Reports Available through the National Technical Information Service (CD #20.1_2215_act).

The Resolution on the Destruction of Libraries and Schools in Gaza in 2014 (CD #32_Revised_2315_act) was defeated after extensive discussion.

Memorial resolutions were passed honoring Diane P. Monnier, Jean E. Lowrie, Roger C. Greer, Chris Olson, Ruth V. Bell, Ferol Ann Accola Foos, Miriam Drake, Lois Mai Chan, Judith Hopkins, Mary Woodley, Julia Claire Blixrud, Vivian Blache Cazayoux, Ernest A. DiMattia, Jr., John H. Hunter, Donald J. Sager, Leslie Feinberg, and Paul Kay Sybrowsky.  Tribute resolutions were passed honoring Nathan Scott, The Ferguson Municipal Public Library, Linda H. Lord, Charles Wilt, and Tom Wheeler.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s